Print
Arable Weeds and Management in Europe
expand article infoJana Bürger, Helen Metcalfe§, Christoph von Redwitz|, Alicia Cirujeda, Silvia Fogliatto#, Guillaume Fried¤, Denise Fu Dostatny«, Michael Glemnitz», Bärbel Gerowitt, José Luis González-Andújar˄, Eva Hernández Plaza˄, Jordi Izquierdo˅, Michaela Kolářová¦, Jevgenija Ņečajevaˀ, Sandrine Petitˁ, Gyula Pinke, Matthias Schumacher, Lena Ulber|, Francesco Vidotto#
‡ University of Rostock, Rostock, Germany
§ Sustainable Agricultural Sciences, Rothamsted Research, Harpenden, United Kingdom
| Federal Research Centre for Cultivated Plants, Braunschweig, Germany
¶ Plant Protection Unit, Centro de Investigación y Tecnología Agroalimentaria de Aragón (CITA), Zaragoza, Spain
# University of Torino, Grugliasco, Italy
¤ Anses - Laboratoire de la Santé des Végétaux, Montferrier-sur-Lez, France
« Plant Breeding and Acclimatization Institute, National Research Institute, Błonie, Poland
» Leibniz Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research (ZALF), Research Area II (“Land Use and Governance”), Müncheberg, Germany
˄ Instituto de Agricultura Sostenible (CSIC), Córdoba, Spain
˅ University of Catalunya, Castelldefels, Spain
¦ Czech University of Life Sciences, Prague, Czech Republic
ˀ Latvia University of Life Sciences and Technologies, Jelgava, Latvia
ˁ Université de Bourgogne Franche-Comté, Dijon, France
₵ Széchenyi István University, Mosonmagyaróvár, Hungary
ℓ University of Hohenheim, Stuttgart, Germany
Open Access

Abstract

“Arable Weeds and Management in Europe” is a collection of weed vegetation records from arable fields in Europe, initiated within the Working Group Weeds and Biodiversity of the European Weed Research Society (EWRS). Vegetation-plot data from this scientific community was not previously contributed to databases. We aim to prove the usefulness of collection for large scale studies through some first analyses. We hope to assure other weed scientists who have signalled willingness to share data, and plan to construct a full data base, making the data available for easy sharing. Presently, the collection has over 60,000 records, taken between 1996 and 2015. Many more studies for potential inclusion exist. Data originate mostly from studies exploring the effect of agricultural management on weed vegetation. The database is accompanied with extensive meta-data on crop and weed management on the surveyed fields. The criteria for inclusion were a minimum amount of information on the cultivated crop, and a georeference. Most fields were surveyed repeatedly, i.e. transects, multiple random plots, or repeated visits. All surveys aimed to record the complete vegetation on the plots. Sometimes, taxa were identified only to genus level, due to survey dates very early in the vegetation period. Plant taxonomy is standardized to the Euro+Med PlantBase.

Keywords

agriculture, arable weed, Europe, management, segetal plant, vegetation-plot database

GIVD Fact Sheet

Acknowledgements

J.B. was funded by Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft under the grant number BU 3097/1-1.

E-mail and ORCID

Jana Bürger (Corresponding author, jana.buerger@uni-rostock.de), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0003-3898-6664

Helen Metcalfe (helen.metcalfe@rothamsted.ac.uk), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-2862-0266

Christoph von Redwitz (christoph.redwitz@julius-kuehn.de), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-1591-5081

Alicia Cirujeda (acirujeda@aragon.es), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0001-9646-8422

Silvia Fogliatto (silvia.fogliatto@unito.it), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-7309-8550

Guillaume Fried (guillaume.fried@anses.fr), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-3653-195X

Denise Fu Dostatny (d.dostatny@ihar.edu.pl), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-6544-1531

Michael Glemnitz (mglemnitz@zalf.de), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-6506-1889

Bärbel Gerowitt (baerbel.gerowitt@uni-rostock.de), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0001-9435-3453

José Luis González-Andújar (andujar@ias.csic.es), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0003-2356-4098

Eva Hernández Plaza (evahernandezplaza@gmail.com), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-2378-2602

Jordi Izquierdo (jordi.izquierdo@upc.edu), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-3949-1295

Michaela Kolářová (mkolarova@af.czu.cz), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-9817-1195

Jevgenija Ņečajeva (jevgenija.necajeva@lu.lv), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-0828-9721

Sandrine Petit (sandrine.petit-michaut@inrae.fr), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0001-8781-8873

Gyula Pinke (pinke.gyula@sze.hu), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-9956-1363

Matthias Schumacher (matthias.schumacher@uni-hohenheim.de), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-5256-1673

Lena Ulber (lena.ulber@julius-kuehn.de), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0003-2829-1527

Francesco Vidotto (francesco.vidotto@unito.it), ORCID: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-0971-1445